Turning Over a New Leaf

By Matthew Estes

Good morning Recollective, it’s Wednesday, June 1, 2016, and it’s time I turned over a new leaf. I have fought through grad school, and I have emerged victorious. The long-nights of writing, editing, re-writing, editing, re-re-writing, and then editing again are in the rear-view mirror. I can now explode into adulthood with a Master’s degree and the omnipresent sensation that I forgot to write a 50-page paper somewhere down the line. However, a quick glance at my transcript reveals that I am, indeed, finished. School is Concluded. Resolved. Consummated.

But that begs a very important question: what is life? Or, perhaps more accurately, now what? I’ve spent every year of my life since I was six years old with school as my full time job. Sure, I’ve had a summer here or there off, but only one since I started college. Regardless, I was still working on “school stuff” most of the time. Things like Summer reading, and learning important writing and technical skills for my classes. Despite my scholastic strategy always being more “fly by the seat of your pants” than most of my peers, I was always a good student. I just had my own methods of doing things as a life-long creative nonconformist. And despite the fact that some of my schoolwork stressed me out to the point of literally being sick, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy the research and carving my own little alcove into the world of communication research.

If you want to see the nearly 100-page document that has so consumed the last few months of my life to the point of nearly abandoning this blog, here’s my thesis. Think of it as a really, really long blog post that isn’t really practical to you life and is kind of hard to understand. Still, it’s the biggest bargaining chip I have, and I very much hope it’s worth it.

Now I find my full-time job to suddenly be, well, finding a full-time job. As imposing of a task as that may seem in this economy, for some reason I don’t find it nearly as scary as composing a thesis. I have a sense of peace about my transposition from the education portion of my life to the career portion of my life. Besides, if I play my cards correctly, I won’t even have to leave the university setting. Instead, I can become a full-staffer at a college.

I do know one thing, though. Creative projects are the most important things in my life that don’t involve relationships with loved ones. Therefore, this blog is not going away, and I solemnly swear to never fall off the face of the Earth for months at a time again. I know a few more things about branding now, and I really feel that with the extra time I have to write, I can really make something out of Mars Gone Mad. So, a big thank you to my core set of readers. May you all accompany me through a lifetime of putting the words of my heart onto whatever medium is a available.

Tomorrow, I’m going to be talking about some of the changes that are taking place around these parts, even if these parts consist merely of binary data being transmitted to you in electronic form.

 

4 thoughts on “Turning Over a New Leaf

  1. Congratulations on finishing your thesis! Getting settled into the real world shouldn’t be that hard, considering you sound like you may have an opportunity working at the college. Stick to what you know and love.

    Leaving that is what ends up being terrifying and life shattering! I know, because I had to retire from network engineering. Now to keep busy I write a blog on my laptop. Still miss networking, but promised my husband that I will not try committing suicide again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

