Photography Roundup Week 5 / My Music

Happy Friday everyone, although I’ll confess that I’m actually typing this on a Thursday for no other reason than I have the time today… and of course because I have chiropractor appointment in the morning when I normally post. So, let’s do this photography roundup, and then I have a special feature based on a comment earlier in the week.

As always, you voting for your favorite helps me become a better photographer. It also determines which image appears over on the right sidebar for this week’s favorite. And, yes, you can vote as many times as you want.

Also, I missed the post on Monday because I had the stomach flu, but I still have a picture for each day! Here’s a little info about the image for Monday. I was going to post about having a child-like view of the adult world, and how we need to approach life in the same magical way that a child would approach a story. Fortunately, I have another picture of Sara on the tire swing, so I can use that one should I feel inspired to use the topic in the near future.

Monday – “Tire Tales”
swing2

Tuesday – “This Close”
stump2

Wednesday – “Tension”
separation

Thursday – “All In How You Look at It”
evil

Friday – “Wild Angles”
theplains

Last Week’s Results – Hey, here’s an idea. Why don’t we take a look at the results for last week’s photography roundup? Although, in this case, it was actually two weeks ago.

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 1.37.45 AM

I too was a big fan of “The Lonely Tree,” so I’m glad it won! Let’s see how this week’s results pan out.


Earlier in the week Judy from the blog lifelessons asked me what kind of music I liked. This lead to a rather longwinded comment on my part about how I like good music. Specifically, I like good electronic rock. You can check out the comment thread over on this post if you’re interested in that. She offers some great music suggestions of her own in those comments! But I thought it would be interesting if I took you all through my entire musical process. It’s kind of a behind the scenes look at how music fits into my blogging lifestyle.

I am a huge fan of Spotify Premium. It is well worth the $5 a month I pay for a student memebership.

When I blog or write papers, I listen to a playlist on shuffle called Chillstep. In fact, I’m listening to it right now as I type this post! It’s a large collection of crunchy beats that can’t help but get the creative side of my brain flowing. To me, it’s kind of like dancing, except instead of moving to the rhythm of the beat, I’m writing to the rhythm of the words. Maybe that’s silly, but it really works for me. I couldn’t imaging writing a post in complete silence.

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 1.47.48 AM

When I study, read a book, pray, or anything else that requires intensity of focus, I listen to a playlist called Deep Focus. It’s full of unobtrusive but very intentional ambient sounds. It’s there to help me think in a grand scale. You can really hear and feel and understand how the world works in this etherial way, especially while listening to ambient music.

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 1.51.50 AM

Finally, I listen to my own custom playlist when I exercise called “Let’s Go For a Run.” I like to try to sync my strides to the beat of the pulsing electronic music, and it really helps me get into the zone.

And there you have it, all my musical secrets to productivity in one blog post. Maybe they’ll inspire you and help you create something awesome. Thanks and I’ll see you next Friday for another photography roundup.


 

About the photo: “Wild Angles” That’s angles, not angels. There are no divine beings in this picture, just divine creation. The tree lines intersect with the plains with such mathematical intentionality that you really feel if was designed that way. Well, I really do, at least. Maybe you would just have to be there.


MSDZ


At the time of this writing, I have no way of knowing the topic of today’s Daily Post prompt. If I did, I’d also be sure to find out today’s winning lottery numbers.


 

Leave a Reply

