J.K Rowling and the Finality of Publishing

regrets

First, you need to know where my loyalties lie. When I ranked Harry Potter and Ginny Weasley in the top 5 fictional relationships, I meant it. When I read the books in middle school, I fell in love with their love. In the epilogue, the fact that Harry and Ginny were married was its one redeeming virtue. 

I know I’m a little late to the party, but I have an opinion about J.K. Rowling saying Harry and Hermione should have been together. And that opinion is that she’s a big jerk. 

As an author, you can’t just go changing the story that has weaved itself into the hearts and minds of your audience. To do so is to discredit the sanctity of what you’re written. For J.K. Rowling to say that she regrets a critical part of the most infamous literary work of the twentieth century is to alter the consciousness of all the future readers of that subject. 

That’d be like Shakespeare deciding Romeo and Juliet should have lived, or John Green saying that he should have rewritten The Fault in Our Stars so Hazel died instead. You can’t just go retcon something that has already been published.

When I get to the point where I have an large audience, and trust me I will get to that point, I’m only going to write what’s in my heart. I’m not going to bend to the wills of publishers or naysayers. God gives me the words to say, and my stories are simply a representation of his message. 

But when you publish something, it is final. Regrets about what you’ve written are one of the few things in life that you should keep to yourself. 

[Thanks Megan Price for the suggestion!]

Leave a Reply

