On My Little Pony and Bronies

mlpspongebob

For those of you who don’t know, I’ll be using the word “Brony” according to the following definition.

Brony: A male fan of the television series My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic.

I am not a Brony. I am not a closet Brony.

In fact, I will say that I’ve only seen one episode of Friendship is Magic in my life. I will, however, admit that the one episode was both pretty good and pretty deep for a show about magical talking ponies.

Admittedly, I think that guys liking the show is a bit weird. But the affection for the show is something I am actually okay with. I guess you could say that I’m a closet Brony supporter.

Here’s why: I’m a fan of people not changing to fit the societal expectations of the people around them. If you are really interested in the show, I think it’s great that you’re not trying to hide that from the rest of the world. 

There’s a change in the winds, however. I think the fact that there’s such a large My Little Pony movement in males is indicative of a desire for a change in the common perception of males. Males have typically been viewed as testosterone-filled animals only interested in sports, food, and sex. Being sensitive to anything other than a strict set of male guidelines was, until recently, considered unacceptable. I think this a good thing, as long as it sets society a few steps closer to viewing a person as an individual and not as set of presumptions based on chromosomes.

All of that said, I’m probably not going to be your best friend if you’re a Brony. It’s not a judgement of what you’re into, it’s a matter of interests. I’m not interested in what happens to Twilight Sparkle or Rainbow Dash or whatever else is going on. Consequently, I’m probably not interested in other things you’re into. Just like you’re not interested in hearing me talk about the Atlanta Braves or what’s going on in my Animal Crossing town. 

My town is named Solitude, by the way. It’s named after the city in Skyrim as well as the fact that playing Animal Crossing is my solitude from real life. If My Little Pony is your solitude, I for one one won’t judge you. But please, for goodness sake, don’t talk about magical ponies all the time. It’s weird. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

