My Earliest Childhood Memory

It’s weird to think about a person not being able to remember his or her life, but everyone has a moment when they come into consciousness. Everyone has a very first memory. 

opal

Mine was something of a rude awakening. This is Hurricane Opal, which formed on September 27, 1995, and this is my first memory. I was four years old, and, well…

More specifically, the memory involves me riding in the pouring rain in the back of my parents old blue Chevy Corsica. Imagine this car, except in on flooded roads and in rain soaked yards.

Corsicablue 

We had gone to my grandparent’s house (who lived about 20 minutes away) before the worst of the storm in order to prepare. That’s all I know. I can remember riding back with torrents of rain hitting the windshield. I can remember the squeal of the windshield wipers going at full speed. I can remember the blue interior of the car and the little compartment below the armrest that holds change. 

As a kid, I had a fear of windshield wipers and car washes. I’m convinced that this memory is what sparked that.

I’ve been told that makes me something of a late riser, as some people have memories of being two years old. I’m not sure why, but I suppose nothing interesting happened to me until I was four years old. 

So what was your first memory. Describe it in all of it’s detail in the comments below. 

3 thoughts on “My Earliest Childhood Memory

  1. Sadly, a restaurant called China Star in Dothan. I lived in Abbiville when I was about 2, but I only remember the big fat Buddha facing me as soon as I walked in. He was brass in color, and looked about 10 times my size. There was another little Buddha on the counter. I was totally entranced by the big one. The Chinese employee told us to rub his belly for good luck, but I never knew why our mom wouldn’t let us. haha. Go figure, it involves food.

    Like

  2. Mine is either hurricane Opal (I distinctly remember looking out the window at my grandparents house ) or the teacup ride at Disney I’m not sure which one took place first either way I was 3 or 4

    Like

Leave a Reply

