I Believe in God. I’m Not Sorry.

traf

I used to think that the complaints of Christians towards being persecuted in America were off-base and exaggerated. I even went so far as to post this Facebook status update on August 7th of last year.

“Christians, some day we’re going to face real persecution. And it’s not going to be somebody that thinks homosexuality is okay or that abortion is understandable. Some day we’re going to have the very core of our beliefs attacked and suppressed. When that happens, I hope we’re not too busy fighting among ourselves to rise up and shine the light of Christ.”

I have since reconsidered my position. Not reversed, just reconsidered. Being a Christian in America is beginning to suck. And it makes me a bit wounded to write this. 

I know I spend a lot of my time on this blog criticizing Christians. I do it to the point where I almost sound like I’m on the world’s side, but I’m not. I just try to make Christians better. I try to get us to understand our faith and our duties to this world. We are, after all, warriors for Christ.

And lately it shows. Who gave out free food in the Birmingham ice storm where much of the cities population was stranded? Was it McDonalds? Was it Burger King? No. It was Chick-Fil-A. The Christians. The same people that the world freaking jumped all over for “gay-bashing” when they were just expressing the company’s opinion. 

You go Christians. You wanna talk about being a missionary? You got it right there! Woo-Hoo!

But lately… lately I’ve really had it with this supposedly open-minded and diverse American nation. I’m talking to each one of you right now. The very ones that think I’m a nutcase for believing in Jesus, my savior. 

You don’t deserve to live in this country if you’re going to hate me for my beliefs. 

Look. I love you. I love you so much that if I could, I would do anything and everything for you if I could. But all I’ve got is this blog and the words that God probably is in the process of granting me. But I love you. I love you all, and I could care less if you’re gay or Buddhist or missing your left eyebrow.  

What really got to me is the disturbing news I heard from the Grammy’s. 

Now I didn’t have a problem with what was in the show. I’m full-force accepting of the First Amendment. If you want to perform a Satanic ritual on stage or dance around in less than your underwear, I’m cool with that. I wouldn’t have it any other way. If you want to Queen Latifah to perform a mass wedding involving couples of mixed sexuality, go right ahead. 

However, on a side note, I don’t appreciate the anthem of gay marriage directly bashing Christians. 

“The right wing conservatives think it’s a decision
And you can be cured with some treatment and religion
Man-made rewiring of a predisposition
Playing God, aw nah here we go
America the brave still fears what we don’t know
And God loves all his children, is somehow forgotten
But we paraphrase a book written thirty-five-hundred years ago.”
-Macklemore, “Same Love”

Just… Just shut up you intolerant jerk! This may be opinion of some Christians but it is not the opinion of me or ANY of my friends. You are as bad as the people you reference in your song. You wonder why Christians get mad? It’s because of stunts like that.

Continuing on…

No, my problem with the Grammy’s was not the show. It was that episode with Natalie Grant. 

Now let me make my position about Natalie Grant clear. I don’t like her music. I think it’s stale and just as boring as the rest of the genre she exists in. But that doesn’t matter. She’s still a Christian, and so am I.

She decided to leave the Grammy’s early. Perhaps it was because of Jay-Z and Beyonce performing a sexually explicit dance, or perhaps it was because Daft Punk (who’s music I love to death, by the way) singing about “Getting Lucky.” Or you know, maybe it’s because Katy Perry (formerly gospel singer Katy Hudson) performed a demonic ritual on stage. Yeah, okay, that was probably it.

Either way, she left before the mass wedding and Tweeted this:

“We left the Grammy’s early. I’ve many thoughts, most of which are probably better left inside my head. But I’ll say this: I’ve never been more honored to sing about Jesus and for Jesus. And I’ve never been more sure of the path I’ve chosen.”

These comments were not implicitly hateful nor intolerant. And yet, for some reason, America took to Twitter. And you know what you guys did? You called her things like “intolerant” and a “hypocrite” and a “gay hater.” That makes me mad.

Events like this are beginning to make me believe that Christians are beginning to be attacked, and that the world is getting worse. And the funny thing is, in this new American melting pot of ideas and ideals, Christian thought sure is getting singled out and attacked quite a bit.

I can think of but one logical explanation for this. Because down beyond all the desires and human thought that people have, humanity realizes that Jesus is in fact the truth. That a person can never understand the complexities of the universe. That God exists, and he is active in those who believe in Him.

Again, this is my opinion, and I love you so much. I appreciate any kind of thinking, and want to be your friend. I’m more than okay with other beliefs and opinions. 

But I believe in God, and I’m not sorry. Go ahead, attack me at will. Goodness knows I need the blog views that a good old fashioned debate creates. Or better yet, appreciate my viewpoint like I appreciate your viewpoint. We’re only going to make this world great by working together. 

Leave a Reply

