My Five Year Plan

tree.wmf

It was suggested to be by a friend of mine that I should create a five year plan. What’s a five year plan? I asked her that question only after Google gave me a list of countries with five year plans for economic recovery. Turns out there’s also a movie called “Five Year Plan.”

It’s probably a brand of perfume, too.

“Hey Matt, I want some Five Year Plan for Christmas!” my girlfriend would say exuberantly. “What’s Five-Year Plan?” I’d ask. “It’s a new fragrance by Taylor Swift.” she’d reply.

Then I’d say, “Oh, you mean like Taylor Swift’s five-year plan to find a steady and constant boyfriend?”

burn_a4d431_1341889

Nope, turns our a five year plan is just what the name implies. It’s a five year outlook about where you want to be in your live at that time. So, made public for everyone to see, here is where I want to be in five years.

I am going to be married. You know where I’m going with this. And as a wedding gift, my future wife would like to request some “Five Year Plan by Taylor Swift.” It’s a perfume.

I am going to have a Master’s Degree. I graduate this summer with my bachelor’s in communications. I am going straight to Auburn University for my Master’s Degree. They’re paying me to get it. That’s kind of cool. I’ll be more than done with that in five years.

I’m going to find a career that allows me to accomplish things beyond making money. At the end of my life, I don’t want to look back and wish I wasn’t a workaholic. I want to be a person who spent time serving God, being with my family, and changing the world for the better.

I will have published at least one book. I’m almost finished with my first novel. I plan for it to be published, as well as hopefully its sequel.

This blog will be popular. A Link to the Matt will still be going strong, and it will be an entertaining and important blog in the WordPress community. Hey WordPress gods, if you’re out there, I want to be Freshly Pressed!

I’m going to be better than who I am right now. Every day I want to progress. I want to be a person that goes beyond expectations. I want to be kind to another person every day. I want to grow to a better understanding spiritually. I want to learn one more thing about myself and others. When I look back at this blog five years from now, I want to say that Matt is a better human being than he was on December 15, 2013.  

 [Thanks Kimberly Waites for suggesting that I do this!]

Leave a Reply

