Ten Things I’m Thankful For

dove

It’s Thanksgiving. What better (and more cliche) time to talk about what means the most me. These are the things I’m most thankful for. They’re in no particular order.

1. I’m thankful for a God that, while infinite, decided to create me. What’s more, he offered me salvation from my nature of sin. That is the end of the line; there is no greater form of grace.

2. I’m thankful for a girlfriend (and one day wife) that loves me. Not many people get to experience the type of relationship that I was granted when I was 17.

3. I’m thankful for a loving mom and dad. They are not perfect – a perfect parent simply does not exist – but they provided me all the tools I need to be a great person. The rest is up to me.

4. I’m thankful to have all four of my grandparents. Not many people can say that at 22 years old. And while it’s seemed perilous at times, they’ve always pulled through. I’m close to each one in a different way.

5. I’m thankful to live in place where I can be safe and successful. Alabama may get an undeservedly bad reputation, it really is a place of kindness and opportunity. Also, the cost of living is low. That’s always nice.

6. I’m thankful for my health. While, yes, I do have a nagging back problem, if that’s all I can complain about I’m doing pretty good. There are people with far worse fates. Disease is a killer with no honor. 

7. I’m thankful for my character. While it may not seem like much, the opportunity to be a person of moral integrity is huge in leading a fulfilling life. Cherish who you are. 

8. I’m thankful for shelter. A home to live in cannot be overstated. Warmth and protection from the elements is a luxury not everyone has.

9. I’m thankful for my talents. I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not the smartest person in the world. I’ll never be an engineer or a lawyer. But God blessed me with some pretty amazing gifts, and I intend to use them to glorify him.

10. I’m thankful for you, dear readers of my writings. The reasons may seem obvious, but the fact that anyone is interested in what I have to say is not something I take lightly. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

