Battery Life

bat2

Have you noticed that some people get worn out much faster than others? Think of each one of your friends. Which ones sleep a lot? Which ones are night owls? Each person has their own battery life.

My battery life is short, especially compared to other people my age. I require a minimum of 6 hours of sleep to function properly, and 8-9 to feel my optimum.

Maybe it’s just because I’m so physically big. I may simply require more food, water, and sleep than the typical person to maintain all 6 and a half feet of my body systems. But perhaps there’s more to it than that.

Maybe I’m drained because I try to get the most out of the life I do live. I think that a life in a groggy, coffee-filled stupor is no life at all. It’s why I’m a morning person; because I hit the ground running in my pursuit of a full life.

I chat with people and exhibit kindness no matter what hour. In my 8:00 a.m. classes, I’m myself while everyone else feels miserable. It’s quite a refreshing change from normalcy. 

The message here is simple, don’t stay up all night. While the night-life may seem fun, the real substance of life is found in the living, not the unstable pursuit of next Friday night. 

It’s quality over quantity. Life’s not worth it if it’s not lived to the fullest, and it’s worth sacrificing a little time to sleep. Believe me, it’ll help your time with friends be far more meaningful.

No, I’m not saying to sleep all of the time. There’s a word for that: lazy. But keep your battery charged. It is there you’ll find a life far more robust.

Leave a Reply

