Something to Say About Chick-Fil-A

[UPDATE 8/8/12: I responded to some of the questions I had about this blog. Read my reply here.]

This will tick some people off. And if there’s anything we’ve learned this week, it’s that you don’t want to tick off Christians.

Those of you close-minded enough to not realize that my blog is a place for my opinions, I frankly don’t care if you don’t read another line. I know that a lot of my “church friends” are going to read this and wonder what the heck is wrong with me. I contemplated not writing about this, but you can’t change the world if you just shut up. So here goes.

(Don’t forget to hit SEE MORE)

 

I am a Christian, in that:
– I believe I am a sinner.
– I believe in Jesus, who was God in human form. I believe he died on that cross and took away my sins when I put my faith in Him.
– I believe that through that, I have eternity in Heaven.

 

But I write this with no less than tears in my eyes. Why? Because I’ve never felt more alone and confused in relation to my faith… or at least the people involved in it… than I do right now.

 

Dan Cathy. You are a hero. The way you stood, uncompromisable, in direct line of fire from an unsaved world and stood up for Biblical values for both yourself and your company is nothing short of incredible. I gained a whole new respect for you. Unfortunately, it didn’t take long for the edge to wear off.

 

I went into Chick-Fil-A in Prattville AL today (Friday, 2 days after CFA App. Day). Mainly, I just wanted a Spicy Chicken Sandwich, Waffle Fries, and a Lemonade… anyway, I went into Chick-Fil-A, despite the fact that the drive-thru spiraled around the building and out into the street. As I walked in, I was not greeted to the gentleness and hospitality we are commanded of in the Bible. No… I was greeted with sneers. As I was in there, four words that I wanted to shout formed on my tongue. “YOU ARE ALL HYPOCRITES!” I am still trying to decide whether or not I should have yelled that, then walked out. I didn’t yell those words, but I DID walk out.

 

Look. Wednesday, I saw the passion in your eyes. You went to Chick-Fil-A like you own the place. But you know what this was? This was a protest. Non-Christians insulted you, and you wouldn’t have any of that. So you took hold of the only thing you had available. Chick-Fil-A’s valiant stand for Christ. Left alone, this might have really gotten the attention of a lost world, and given people reason to believe that not all Christians are hateful and close-minded, but merely people with strongly held beliefs.

 

But right now… the world considers us hateful, close-minded jerks. And I don’t blame them one bit. This protest did not prove a thing! Let me prove it by asking these questions.

 

1. Where is the love and hospitality we were commanded by Jesus? The second greatest command in the Bible is “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Our neighbors aren’t always Christians, and we DID NOT love them this week. AT ALL.

 

2, How were we being the salt of the earth and the light of the world? By condemning homosexuality, we were being the same thing the world was being when they condemned our intolerance.

 

3. Here’s the kicker. Name one person who came to know the Lord from our little fit we pitched this week at Chick-Fil-A.

 

We only did one thing. We proved that 300 years of Christianity thriving in America has made us spoiled. The Bible says we WILL BE criticized and persecuted. Do you know what every Biblical hero did when persecuted about their faith and beliefs? Took it. They never crusaded, but they fought back stronger with love.

 

You want to make a stand, Christians? You want to be passionate? Do it in love! Go spend that money giving food to the hungry. Go take care of the sick and the homeless. Go make friends with that person at school who has no friends, or that person at work who has different beliefs that you. Just be a person who has nothing to prove but that you love others. BUT DON’T TELL ME THAT WE ARE BEING CHRISTIANS BY GETTING TOGETHER AT CHICK-FIL-A AND HATING HOMOSEXUALS. We don’t have to agree with people to love them.

 

Please, guys. I beg of you. I don’t want to live in a world where I tell someone I’m a Christian, and they hate me for it. This kind of stuff destroys our name. We have GOT to be better than this. Next time, instead of protesting by going to Chick-Fil-A, let’s protest by building communities, helping the less fortunate, giving to missions, or just being kind.

 

We can do this…

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Something to Say About Chick-Fil-A

  1. I understand what you said. I even understand what you meant. As a Christian I have a Hard time with love one another & if you don’t stand for something , you will fall for anything, rule. I have wonderful Friends who have same sex Partners.. If I let them see Christ in me is that Enough? I have never believed that calling someone out, will bring them to God. I hear on the other hand That if God said it is wrong how can I do any less. I don’t know the answer. How can so many wanting to do right~~ Get it wrong? Sorry if I rambled.

    Like

    • Don’t apologize at all about rambling. This whole controversy has been incredibly confusing. It’s important to remember that this is my opinion. It’s based on the Bible, but I don’t claim to have all of the answers.

      Like

      • I agree with a lot of this Matt. I wish the lines at homeless shelters and other places were as long as they were at chick-fil-a. That is how to change the world. But they have every right to do what they did. And I respect that. But the other side has the same rights to protest. I have very mixed feelings on the whole thing.

        Like

      • I’m just kind of tired of this whole thing being blown out of proportion. Left alone, this issue would be over by now. But maybe some good will come out of this in the end.

        Like

  2. I would just like to say that I went and supported Chick-Fil-A on Wednesday, as a Christian. I didn’t go because I hate homosexuals, I love everyone because that is what Christ calls me to do, I went to show support to one of the only mainstream Christian organizations left in this world.

    Like

  3. I didn’t go to Chick-Fil-A to protest anything, I went to support Christians like the Cathy family, who are in a better position than I am to make a difference. I think that’s what a lot of people did. Everyone standing in line around me had smiles on their faces, and instead of complaining about the long wait, they remarked on how grateful they were for an establishment like Chick-Fil-A whose leaders humbly but firmly stand with their values. Although I haven’t seen it personally, I’m sure that the hate and intolerance that you’re talking about exists in some of Chick-Fil-A’s ‘supporters’ because sin just has a certain knack for corrupting good things. But maybe we shouldn’t lump all of the Christians who went to Chick-Fil-A on Wednesday into the same category. I, for one, never even considered it a protest until I read your blog. It was just sort of a long-distance hug to the Cathys, who are receiving a good amount of ridicule from the media and even some government officials. It was MY way of showing love. How could I show love in this situation any better? Sure, some people’s motives were probably unrighteous, but a lot of people went out of love, rallying around their fellow Christians. How sad would it have been for the Christian world to stay silent?

    Like

  4. I am in agreeance with almost everyone here… if that is even possible? But I went to Chick-Fil-A on Wednesday to show support for companies that believe the same things I do and won’t step down when asked about it. That’s the thing that is getting me through this whole situation. Cathy didn’t rub his nose in anyones chicken, he was blatantly asked about something that everyone already knew the answer to. The media was just looking for something to write about and we gave it to them. You are right – everyone is going to remember the one bad seed that screamed some offensive term in one random place instead of all the people standing in line just wanting lunch that day, extending a hug (as Julie put it). I kid you not, there was more love in that restaurant that day than in some churches I’ve been in.
    The way I see it is that Chick-Fil-A made “record setting profits” that day. Throughout all the other years of profit, they have donated to TONS of charities that help the homeless and sick and poor and the churches and all this other stuff. The money is going to the places that people are saying we won’t go. Yes, there should be longer lines at the soup kitchen and more people donating to the hungry, but to be honest – all I had was my measly 8 dollars and 30 minutes. I am all for making a stand but on my time and budget, all I can do to make a stand is give money to the people who are giving money to the right places and then go about my day and try to interact with people through love like I have been doing all along. I even went on Friday as well to talk to the people who were there for the “kiss in” and there weren’t any. I have heard so many stories about people donating gift cards to protestors that were picketing.
    I get that the majority of people are only going to remember the bad, but what is ONE person remembers the good that came from those gift cards or the employees saying God Bless You and that was their stepping stone – then 5 years down the road they come to accept Christ.
    I get what you are saying, but I feel like all your points are mute to 95 percent of the people that stepped foot in Chick-Fil-A last wednesday.

    Like

    • Everything you just said is fair and respectable. I am working on a follow up blog in which I
      A. Give a sort of “free pass” to everyone who went in there just with the intention of supporting Chick-Fil-A for being AWESOME!
      B. Clarify that homosexuality is absolutely wrong according to scripture.

      Just remember that there are several free things that we can do to show Christ, and most have nothing to do with politics or money or chicken…

      Like

  5. I agree with you Matt, i did go to the Dothan Chick Fil A on Chick Fil A day, and i went to stand up for Christian beliefes and values, but the way you presented this article has proven quite a thought prevoker. I didn’t think of the fact that people were slamming Homosexuallity, I do not beleive that homosexuality is right, but i dont not think that walking around verbally Shouting our oppenions should be the way to protest it either, we should approch it with a caring christian heart, and love them as Jesus has commanded. You have made me stop and think about it. Carry on the good work! And God be with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

