TOP FIVE [DYING FORMS OF MEDIA] — #5

And we’re back. Sorry for the lack of blogs last week. I make these blogs days or weeks in advance. Work has been truly busy of late, and my queue of pre-written work finally ran out. I assure you, this was not loss of interest. This past month of blogging has been one of my favorite things I’ve done in my life. I wanted to thank you for the 500 total view this month! You readers are amazing.

This week we are going to be counting down the most under-appreciated forms of media we have at our disposal. I’m all for the advancement of technologies, but there are some things that seem to be dying, and I’m not really sure why. 

#5 — RADIO

Please enjoy as I read a letter I’ve kindly written to the forgotten medium of radio broadcasting.  
(Be sure to click “READ MORE”)

Dear Radio, 

I’m sorry. I’m sorry that you’ve been around for so long. We as human beings have enjoyed having you around since the 19th Century. You’ve lived an incredibly long life. But radio… you are near death. 

You’ve been beaten, but never broken for years now. First it was television, but you persevered. Then it was portable media like cassettes and CD’s. But somehow, you’ve stood strong. But radio, your final blow, unfortunately, is coming. The internet is taking the place of the news you deliver every day, and cloud storage is taking over the music you wonderfully dish out. And the smartphone empire commands all. No radio, your time here of the Earth is almost over.

But don’t fret, your time here on Earth has been long and glorious. The history of you, radio, has been nearly as rich as the music you’ve brought our ears. Rest assured, you were incredible, but all good things must come to an end. 

Sincerely,
Matt (from A Link to the Matt) 

 I’ll see you guys tomorrow for Number Four.

 

 

Leave a Reply

