**GUEST WRITER MYRA BOULWARE**

Hey guys! Matt here!

…..HA!

Just kidding. It’s Myra! I have temporarily kicked Matt off his own blog and decided to take over. Poor, innocent Matt. He has no idea what kind of havoc I could wreak on this blog.

I mean, not that I would. Because I’m, you know. Nice and all that. Most of the time.

So, when Matt suggested that I write a guest post on his blog, I really had no idea what to write about. I was going to do a rebuttal of his post on MY blog, but that just seemed rude. Also, most of what he said was pretty accurate. So I’ve been giving it a lot of thought, and I decided I need to write about letting go.

I don’t do a lot of serious posts. If you read my blog you know that serious is NOT my style at all. However, recent events have caused me to think a lot about past decisions I have made and how they have affected my life.

I know what you’re thinking.

“MYRA. Shutup. You’re seriousness is downing my vibe. Why don’t you write a post about why bananas are the funniest fruit ever? That seems more your style.”

And yeah, you’re right. About bananas being funny AND that being more my style. But once in a while I think life calls for some seriousness. And I guess now is just one of those times for me.

So.

We are defined by our choices. It is our deeds that truly show who we are. And when I look back on some of the ones I have made, I don’t like the person I’ve shown myself to be. We all have flaws. Some of mine are being irresponsible, deceitful, easily carried away, and just plain old not thinking about the things that I do. And lately, (maybe just because it’s summer and I have nothing to do with all my time except write in my blog and sit around and think about life) my past as a whole has especially been disturbing me. And something that I’ve come to realize is, just as you can’t hold other peoples’ pasts against them, you have to learn to forgive yourself and move on.

Sure, I’ve done some pretty bad stuff. I’ve made terrible decisions, trusted the wrong people, ignored what God has shoved right in my face. But the beauty of life is that each day is a fresh, clean slate. Every day is a chance to start over. If you wake up in the morning, look in the mirror, and don’t like what you see, you can change it. If you examine your heart and find you don’t like who you’ve become, you can be a new person. Ain’t life grand?

Forgiveness is essential to your life. Forgiving others AND yourself. Because if all you do is sit around beating yourself up over what you could have done, should have done, would have done, you will NEVER achieve anything except a heart full of regret. So take a minute to accept that you are HUMAN. And you make mistakes. It’s IMPOSSIBLE for you NOT to, as a matter of fact. Unless your name is Jesus. In which case I am extremely flattered you’re taking time out of your busy schedule to read all this.

The good thing is, you are not defined by your mistakes. It’s what you choose to learn from them and change about yourself that makes or breaks you. So all of you out there that might have things, just like me, that you are holding onto and refusing to move on from, give yourself a break, huh? Life is hard. No one said it was going to be easy. Learn from it, forgive yourself for your mistakes, and move on, bro!

…..That’s all for my daily rant. I think now I’m going to take a nap. Or text Boyfriend. Or maybe text Boyfriend and tell him I’m taking a nap, but then really stay up and play Pokemon.

….Nope. I’m gonna go eat pie.

Just FYI, eating pie is a decision you will never regret. Feel free to eat pie without worrying about the consequences.

…kBye.

(It’s a TRAP!!! Haha, this really is Matt! I’d like to thank epic blog partner Myra for writing this! We’re going to try to make guest-starring on each other’s blog a routine thing. You may check out her wonderful blog, Toasterphobia, here. See you guys tomorrow for more Dumbledore quotes! )

Leave a Reply

